Skip to content

Desked and iPhones and nefarious people.

18/04/2009

bad iPhone......

bad iPhone……

It has come to my attention, via a very scary email, that if you take a photograph of your desk with an iPhone and then submit that photo to Desked and then I or my good chum Mr Red Leeroy then publish the photo of your desk along with some pithy lines about the tidiness or otherwise of said desk then nefarious people with nefarious minds COULD, with a bit of jiggery pokery, find out where you live or work. And they can do this with frightening accuracy.

Oh my.

The email came from blog chum and photographer, Toast. He can explain the whole thing better than I….

“Ha… when you take a picture with a digital camera, it by default adds in some extended data from the camera, ‘exif’ data, now traditionally this was info to help the photographer such as f-stop used, lens type etc – all very useful, also adding more information for filing – remember that Manchester congestion thingy I rumbled? I did that by looking at the exif data for one of the photos, after seeing ‘mom with kids on white background’ i knew that it was a) America (‘mom’) and b) from a stock agency (‘on white background’) so i went to istockphoto and searched the term and found it… Well I digress, now the iphone also has a gps it puts this info into the exif data as well, thus giving your location away in each photo… its not something I realised until I looked at that photo of yours…[FROM WELL DONE FILLET-NOW REMOVED] maybe worth bearing in mind… there are things that you can do to strip out exif data, and i think, that uploading only to a certain size in blogger might do that.”

He also linked to my place of gameful employment, which was nice. Sorry did I say nice? I meant pant wettingly scary. Anyhoo I thought I should let you all know, just incase you worry bout such things. My advice is probably best not to submit photos to Desked that have been taken with your iPhone. But if you do, you do so at yer own risk.

Seriously, you cant take a poo without someone knowing about it….

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sassy Sundry permalink
    18/04/2009 6:21 pm

    Huh. I thought I had left a coment here. Anyhow, here’s what I thought I’d said (or something close to it):

    A couple of weeks ago, when I wrote about the US Department of Homeland Security cameras debacle in my city, I posted photos. Two of my posts that week were picked up by a couple of Boston blog aggregators. One commenter on one of those sites had figured out exactly where I lived, using Google Street view. He figured it out, and told the city of Boston about it. That’s how I learned my lesson about posting photos, even if they aren’t taken with an iPhone.

  2. Wellington Farset permalink*
    19/04/2009 10:17 am

    good grief sassy, that’s horrendous……!

  3. 22/04/2009 4:41 pm

    That’s creepy man.

Leave a Reply

