Skip to content

Alex Leonard’s other desk…(tidy version)

14/04/2009
Alex Leonard's other desk (tidy version)

Alex Leonard's other desk (tidy version)

These people with multi monitors…what they use them for? Why so many monitors…..clearly I have monitor envy…..

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/04/2009 1:16 pm

    WWWOW

    You could launch the shuttle from there.

  2. 14/04/2009 1:20 pm

    Why do so many people have more than one screen?

  3. 14/04/2009 11:27 pm

    I can’t imagine ever going back to one screen. I’d feel so completely lost. I did think 4 screens was a bit excessive, that is… until I tried it 🙂

    The top two screens act as my main work area, usually with PHP code on the left and css code and website preview on the right (I’m a web designer).

    Then the bottom two screens are pretty much communication central – email on the left, and Skype/micro-blogging things/IRC, as well as media player usually sitting in the background.

    However, where it really really works out well is using Cubase and Reason for music production. With Cubase you pretty much can never have enough screen real estate. One project will contain your sequencer, usually two different mixer views, project audio pool, and then probably 10-40 VST’s/Effects/Processors, so yeah, that takes up a lot of room 😉

    Of course, does it really do me any good? Probably not. My face is warmed up some by the radiation from these screens, I can’t be helping my eyes, and it would appear, purely from reading back over the content of this comment, that I am a nerd..

    Damn.

    Now if only I could escape into outer space somehow…

  4. 15/04/2009 3:50 am

    Sorry, Alex, this desk is soooo beyond nerd, and into ultra-geek. I swear I might have to get another monitor for playing with all my Adobe applications. The palettes take up so much room and get in the way, it would be nice to move them to another monitor.

  5. 16/04/2009 5:58 pm

    @silverstar98121 😀 I definitely haven’t ever been called ultra-geek before. Damn. Looks like there’s no saving me.

    However, nerdiness aside, get a second screen! It’s totally worth it, and I’m sure the usefulness of it will totally outweigh the resulting increase in your nerd ranking..

  6. 16/04/2009 6:06 pm

    I can see Hyperion… and a LiquidMix.. (unconnected… tuttut!:-)

Leave a comment